4th Sustainable Summer School video

In 2012, Aalto University Creative Sustainability (CS) had organised the 4th Sustainable Summer School in Suomenlinna with Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy and many other contributors to SSS including World Design Capital Helsinki. See more pictures on CS Flickr set.

Sustainable Summer School (SSS) offers the unique possibility to learn to shape the future of sustainable lifestyle. SSS and the summer school consortium was founded to gather design students from all over the world, to raise their awareness for environmental issues while working together in mixes and enable them to evaluate the quality of sustainability. The didactic concept of the SSS provides the students with expert knowledge (Expert Day) and motivates them to implement it in the creation of sustainable future ways of life (workshops).

More on Sustainable Summer School official website



Teardrops by Joel Hood licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike License.


36 participants from 9 different countries

Workshop Leaders

Sustainable tourism workshop

Bernd Draser ecosign/Akademie für Gestaltung

Alastair Fuad-Luke Aalto University

Sustainable Transition by Mobile Services workshop

Brigitte Wolf Bergische Universität Wuppertal

Eero Miettinen Aalto University

The Aesthetics of Simple Living workshop

Nina Gellersen Hochschule Luzern – Design & Kunst

Luzius Schnellmann Hochschule Luzern – Design & Kunst

Rediscovering Happiness workshop

Anke Bernotat Folkwang University of the Arts

Gwendelyn Kulick Beaconhouse National University


Najine Ameli & Christa Liedtke Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy

Michael Lettenmeier D-Mat Oy

Organizers and hosts

Aalto University Creative Sustainability (CS)

Tiina Lautila | CS programme director

Paola Cabrera | CS collaborator, SSS producer

Katri-Liisa Pulkkinen | CS collaborator, SSS host and reporter

Janne Salovaara | CS master degree student, SSS student host

Seungho Lee | CS minor degree alumni, SSS host

Special thanks to

The Governing Body of Suomenlinna

Hostel Suomenlinna

City of Helsinki Education Department Media Centre


Interviewees | Dipti Sonawane, Nícholas Baroncelli Torretta

Filming | Hesam Pakbeen, Anna Berg, Markus Petteri Laine

Directing | Markus Petteri Laine, Seungho Lee

Editing | Markus Petteri Laine, Seungho Lee

Posted by Creative Sustainability
7 years ago

One response

  1. Kadikoy Escort / May 4, 2019

    Awesome issues here.I’m very happy to look your post.

    Thank you a lot and I’m taking a look forward
    to contact you. Will you please drop me a e-mail?